EUROoCS awards for five hDMT PhD students

Sunday, 7 July

During the closing ceremony of the first EUROoCS conference in Graz on 2 and 3 July 2019, a number of young scientists received an award. Travel Awards were offered to promote the participation of students and selected from the submitted abstracts by peer-review. The Best Poster Awards were elected by voting of all participants in the conference. The Best Talk Award was chosen by the scientific committee and the session chairs.

Among the awardees were PhD students from two hDMT partner organizations, Leiden University Medical Center (LUMC) and University Medical Center Groningen (UMCG):

Student Travel Award ( 250)
Dennis Nahon (LUMC)
Development of a 3D NVU-on-a-chip model for studying vascular dementia
Nahon, D., Cochrane, A., de Graaf, M., Cao, X., Halaidych, O., Terwindt, G., Roybon, L., Mummery, C. and Orlova, V.

Stefan Kauschke and Dennis Mahon

Best Poster Awards ( 250)
Mees de Graaf and Amy Cochrane (shared prize)

  1. Scalable 3D Vessel-on-Chip model using hiPSCs derived vascular cells
    De Graaf, M., Cochrane, A., van den Hil, F., Buijsman, W., van der Meer, A., van den Berg, A., Mummery, C. and Orlova, V.
  2. Developing 'Vessel-on-Chip' technology to model vascular physiology and pathophysiology using human induced pluripotent stem cells
    Cochrane, A., de Graaf, M., Halaidych, O., Cao, X., van den Hil, F., Mummery, C. and Orlova, V.

Nikolche Gjorevski with Amy Cochrane and Mees de Graaf

Joram Mooiweer/Renée Moerkens (shared first authorship)

Modelling multifactorial gastrointestinal diseases in vitro.
Mooiweer, J., Moerkens, R., Slager, J., Zorro, M., Withoff, S. and Wijmenga, C.

Nikolche Gjorevski with Renée Moerkens

Back to the news overview